Holy Innocents' Episcopal School

2019 Upper School Honors and Awards

Department and special recognition awards were presented at a ceremony for classroom awards on Monday, May 6 at Holy Innocents’ Episcopal Church and Honors Day on Thursday, May 9 in the main gym.
Emma Forrestal was named valedictorian, and Colin Cassell was named salutatorian. Emma plans to attend the University of Virginia as an Echols Scholar, and Colin plans to attend Georgia Tech.
This year's Faculty Award, presented by the Upper School faculty to a senior who particularly demonstrates scholarship, leadership and moral character, was presented to Katie Leonard. The Alice L. Malcolm Headmaster's Award, awarded to a rising senior who best exemplifies the philosophy of the school, was given to Catherine Shamanski.
  • The Atlanta Journal Cup, awarded to a senior who demonstrates excellence in academics, leadership and school community activities: Olivia Martin;
  • The Excellence in Moral Courage Award, presented to a senior who demonstrates moral strength, integrity and courage: Branan Cobb;
  • Citizenship Award, conferred upon a senior who best exemplifies outstanding conduct toward other students, faculty, school and community: Kent Malcolm;
  • National Honor Society Scholarship, for a current freshman or sophomore who demonstrates exceptional academic ability and performance: Maddie Poch;
  • The Frank L. Butler & Marilyn Butler Blane Memorial Scholarship, for a rising sophomore in good academic standing who exhibits a selfless attitude, demonstrates an ability to lead, and actively participates in the community: Brandon Sertl;
  • The Wilbanks Award for Excellence in Fine & Performing Arts, awarded to a senior whose excellence in the arts has brought inspiration to fellow students and faculty: Abby Barnes;
  • The Scholar-Athlete Award (female): Mary Claire Smith;
  • The Scholar-Athlete Award (male): Richard Johnston;
  • S.T.A.R. Faculty Award: Chris Yarsawich;
  • S.T.A.R. Student AwardWill Scarborough;
  • The James R. Best Award for Excellence in Math & Computer Science awarded to the senior whose excellence in math or computer science has brought inspiration to fellow students and faculty: Colin Cassell.
Cum Laude Society also welcomed initiates Max Armstrong, Branan Cobb, Sam Cravey, Anna Devine, Christopher Gadomski, Sydney Jackson, Owen Malcolm, Miller Reid, Mary Claire Smith, Natalie Spingler, Sally Stuart and Ashley Whitehead.
Georgia Certificate of Merit Awards were presented to Jaylee Davis, Ansley Diaz, Greg Hays, Matthew Keagle, Andersson Niepoky, Matthew Raeside and Nick Reddy.
Physical Education
Physical Education – Tatiana Johnson
Sports Ethics & Advanced Conditioning – Matthew Fierro
Intro to Sports Care and Prevention – Kenidi Cook
Women's Wellness – Scarlett Smith
Media Literacy  
Broadcast Journalism – Dara Grocer
Film & TV Production I – Peter Wandtke
Film & TV Production II – Jake Sullivan
Journalism – Jaylee Davis
Yearbook – Hollis Gottlieb
New Media and the World Honors – Mary Claire Smith
Fine Arts  
Band – Charlie Gilcreast
Orchestra – Lexi Baker
Chorus – Sarah Grace Barr
All Things Theater – Nathan Weaver
Foundations of Art – Caroline Williams
Foundations of Art Honors – Abigail Jablon
Drawing I – Rachel Utz
Drawing II Portfolio – Abbie Reams
Painting I – Regan White
Painting II Mixed Media – Eric Maye
Ceramics & Sculpture – Gaby Diamonon
Photography I – Gaby Diamonon
Photography II – Spencer Pearson
Photography III – Tara Varzi
Coding for Art – William Welden
AP Drawing – Emma Schlatterer
AP 2D Design – Libby Malcolm
AP 3D Design – Livi Friedman
World Languages  
French I – Wade Van Dyke
French II – Laura Donahue
French II Honors – Emily Adams
French III – Mac Mitchell
French III Honors – Grace Kelly
French IV Honors – Kai Cameron
French V Honors – Yale Ford
Latin I – Louise McKown
Latin II – Haley Robinson
Latin III – Maggie Belenky
Latin IV Honors – Jaylee Davis
Spanish I – Ahmari Whitehead
Spanish II – Spencer Pearson
Spanish II Honors – Charlie Hill
Spanish III – Rachel Suttle
Spanish III Honors – Abbie Reams
Spanish IV – Hunter Hawk
Spanish IV Honors – Emily Kallis
Spanish V Honors – Catherine Shamanski
AP Spanish – Grace Rowell
Religious Studies  
God and Humanity – Sophie Corts
Abrahamic Traditions – Sam Aiken
Jewish Experiences of the Holocaust – Brooke Lindner
Servant Leadership – Sally Stuart
World Narratives – Allison Danhof
World Narratives Honors – Megan O'Connor
World History Honors – Scarlett Smith
AP World History – Lane Estes
US History Honors – Audrey Gruenhut
AP US History – Kate Moore
International Diplomacy: Survey of the United Nations – Evan Hunter
AP Psychology – Maddie Poch
AP Microeconomics – Jeff Klopfenstein
AP Macroeconomics – Katie Leonard
AP Government – Lucy Brumbaugh
AP European History – Olivia Martin
Physics I – Laura Donahue
Physics I Honors – Brandon Sertl
Chemistry – Paige Asarch
Chemistry Honors – Caroline Causey
AP Chemistry – Matthew Raeside
Biology – Cannon Crane
Biology Honors – Lucy Brumbaugh
AP Biology – Tiana Momon
Anatomy and Physiology – Kent Malcolm
Anatomy and Physiology Honors – Gabi Silver
AP Environmental Science – Brooke Lindner
AP Physics I – Ellie Sager
AP Physics C – Justin Gahlhoff
Engineering Concepts I – Amanda Hausmann
Engineering Concepts II – Maddy Hannan
Engineering Concepts III – Colin Cassell
AP Computer Science – Nick Reddy
Data Structures & Algorithms – Emma Forrestal
English 9 – Jakobe Harmon
English 9 Honors – Abigail Jablon
English 10 – Jack McCloskey
English 10 Honors – McLean Hamer
English 11 – Livi Friedman
English 11 Honors – Mary Grace Tippett
AP English Language – Matthew Raeside
English 12: Horror and Poetry – Gabi Silver
English 12 Honors: Monsters in Brit Lit – Georgia Symbas
English 12 Honors: Creative Writing – Sally Stuart
AP English Literature – Olivia Martin
Algebra I – Ashton Willis
Geometry – Anna Thomas
Geometry Honors – George Wray
Algebra II – Taylor Rand
Algebra II Honors – Caroline Causey
PreCalculus – Miller Taylor
PreCalculus Honors – Nick Reddy
College Algebra – Bennett Baugus
Calculus/Statistics – Libby Malcolm
AP Statistics – Jeff Klopfenstein
AP Calculus AB – Ford Morgan
AP Calculus BC – Richard Johnston
Multivariable Calculus – Colin Cassell
805 Mount Vernon Highway NW, Atlanta, GA 30327
Phone: (404) 255-4026
Holy Innocents’ is the largest Episcopal parish day school in the United States, a fully accredited, college-preparatory day school for 3-year-olds through 12th-grade boys and girls.